Bucholz Conservation Award

 Click here to nominate someone for the 2019 Bucholz Conservation Award

2018 Kurt Bucholz Conservation Award Winner: Kermit Brown.


Kermit Brown has been an ardent supporter of conservation agriculture in Wyoming throughout his career as an attorney in Laramie and as the former Republican member of the Wyoming House of Representatives where he served as the House Majority Leader and Speaker of the House.


Brown found his passion in agriculture after he spent his youth working on ranches in the Saratoga area. He was able to have a first-hand experience with the important work that is done by Wyoming’s farmers and ranchers. This understanding has impacted his choice in career and allowed him to grow as a voice for the pivotal relationship between agriculture and conservation.


Brown was one of the three co-sponsors of the Uniform Conservation Easement Act and played a part in the creation of the Wyoming Wildlife and Natural Resource Trust which helps to fund conservation easements throughout the state. Brown was a long-time friend with Dr. Kurt Bucholz DVM, who served as a Representative for Carbon County. These accomplishments are among many which have qualified Brown to receive the award.


Brown commented on the meaning of receiving the conservation award created in honor of Dr. Bucholz, “I am honored and deeply humbled to receive this award. Dr. Bucholz’ vision for Wyoming should be a model for everyone to consider. He loved open spaces and untrammeled landscapes where agriculture could quietly coexist with nature and wildlife free of the clutter and chaos of human development. I appreciate all the people and especially landowners who love this state and who have helped advance Kurt’s vision.”


The Bucholz Conservation Award is given in memory of the late Dr. Kurt Bucholz DVM, rancher from Carbon County, and early supporter of the WSGLT. Kurt had a unique understanding of water and land issues and worked to protect the historic water rights that are fundamental to the North Platte Valley.


Past Recipients of the Bucholz Award


Dennis Sun – 2008
Dr. John Lunt – 2009
Joe Glode – 2010
Jim Chant – 2011
Bob Budd – 2012
Mike Healy – 2013
Bobbie Frank – 2014
Alan Barnett – 2015
Patrick O’ Toole – 2016
Jim Wilson – 2017
Kermit Brown -2018


Wyoming Stock Growers Land Trust

113 East 20th Street
PO Box 268
Cheyenne, WY 82003
P 307.772.8751 • email